Managing Cash Flow as a Black Entertainment Professional | Actors Fund
Past Event

Managing Cash Flow as a Black Entertainment Professional

Workshop Hours: 2:00pm - 4:30pm PT / 4:00pm - 6:30pm CT / 5:00pm - 7:30pm ET

The road to financial wellness requires clarity and understanding with regards to your numbers. However, genuine financial wellness also requires clarity and understanding regarding the role that race has played and continues to play in our society, in terms of access to financial opportunities for Black communities.

This special 8-week version of our popular Managing Cash Flow course will explore how the history of racial and economic inequality impacts our present-day financial experience.

  • The first two weeks of the class provide the foundation for exploring the relationship between race and money in America.
  • The remaining 6-weeks will focus on developing practical money management skills. Participants will learn and begin to implement specific strategies for organizing expenses, balancing multiple sources of income, planning for dry spells, managing debt, saving, investing, aligning professional and financial goals, and more.

Prerequisite: 

Completion of Budgeting Nuts & Bolts (BN&B) is required prior to registration. If you have not completed BN&B, upcoming workshop dates are Wednesday, August 4, 5-7pm (PT) and Thursday, August 5, 1-3pm (PT), both via Zoom. 

Location: 

Online via Zoom.  IMPORTANT: The Zoom link will be sent via email several times prior to the event, including the day of the workshop. Please be sure to check your spam and/or promotions box if you do not receive it. 

Attendance Rules: 

Must commit to all 8 sessions (8/18, 8/25, 9/1, 9/8, 9/15, 9/22, 9/29 and 10/6).

Contact Name: 

Samarah Blackmon

Contact Email: 

Recurrence: 

An 8-week session, weekly from Wednesday, August 18 - October 6, 2021