Spotlight Series on The Business of Funny: Managing a Career in Comedy | Actors Fund
Past Event

Spotlight Series on The Business of Funny: Managing a Career in Comedy

Spotlight on Comedians with Special Guest Joe DeVito

Comic actors, writers and stand-up comedians provide much needed relief in an often-changing world. However, the nature of their work often leads to financial instability, episodic work, and intense competition. These concerns have become even more challenging as a result of the pandemic.

However, our special guest speaker Joe DeVito has adapted to changing times for over the past 19 years, sustaining a fulfilling career using his comedy skills.

During this discussion, we will explore:

• Potential ways to navigate a career in comedy during and after the pandemic

• How comic skills are transferrable

• The business side of being a comedian

• How to prepare for the lifestyle that comedians experience

Time: 12:30-2pm (PT), 2:30-4pm (CT), 3:30-5pm (ET)

About Spotlight

Our Spotlight Series highlights the transferable skills that performing arts and entertainment professionals can use to generate work in other professional arenas. Through this series arts workers will gain resources to expand their career opportunities in and out of the business.

About Joe DeVito

Comedian Joe DeVito has performed on The Late Late Show, Last Comic Standing, and Comedy Central, in addition to hundreds of TV panel appearances. His 2019 comedy special has over 4 million views and his albums are in regular rotation on SiriusXM Radio.

Joe is also in demand as a comedy writing coach, helping new and established comics develop material and find their unique voice.

Location: 

Online Webinar Via Zoom

Attendance Rules: 

Please note your time zone!

12:30-2:00 pm (PT)
2:30-4:00 pm (CT)
3:30-5:00 pm (ET)

 

 

Contact Name: 

Jared Scheinberg

Contact Email: 

Contact Phone: 

917.281.5955