Why Every Dancer Needs to Think Like an Entrepreneur | Actors Fund
Past Event

Why Every Dancer Needs to Think Like an Entrepreneur

Photo credit: Rachel Papo for Dance Teacher

Join Career Transition For Dancers, a program of The Actors Fund and Dance Business Weekly for a lively discussion with dance artists Chanel DaSilva and Nigel Campbel, Co-Founders of MOVE|NYC|, about what it takes to develop the mindset of a business owner—and why that perspective is useful for any dancer who sets out to create and manage a successful career, whether it’s performing, teaching or managing.

There’s an identity crisis that occurs, says DaSilva about adjusting from the mentality of a performer to that of a business person. It’s about leaning into the internal battle and asking, What are the things we can no longer do as directors? What does it mean to operate as a business owner? What is the reality of this new place in your life? Moderated by Karen Hildebrand, Editor in Chief of Dance Teacher magazine. http://dancebusinessweekly.com/ 

 

Time: 
1:00pm - 3:00 pm (EST)
12:00pm - 2:00 pm (CST)
10:00am - 12:00 pm (PST)

Location: 

Via Zoom, an online video conferencing system that we will be using for class. You will need a device with internet connectivity to participate (a headset or earphones with a mic are recommended, though not required).

To access the link to the meeting please register via EventBrite.

Attendance Rules: 

Session will begin at the scheduled time, so please be prompt. Log in a few minutes early to ensure your device is operational.

Contact Name: 

Patch Schwadron

Contact Email: 

Contact Phone: 

917-281-5954